Review of Mass ovement 2015 by Khushoo Karia

What it was?

I went to the Curve Theatre to watch Mass Movement 2015 by Dance4 and had the opportunity to be a part of the event too.

Link to Dance4 announcement : http://dance4.co.uk/young-people/project/udance-2015/event/young-people/2015-02-14/mass-movement-2015

Expectations

Before watching the show, I had expected the acts to be the same as we see everywhere but when I watched it was the opposite. The performances were simply, wow! The energy and musicality was fantastic. I could really see the hard work put into the performances and it motivated me to do something of that sort and reach that level

My Opinion on the show

I felt that there were some very abstract performances such as one which involved no music but voices of the performers. This was quite fascinating but I felt it was also confusing because the story or message was not easy to figure out. However, I think that is the fun bit in dance as an audience; you can interpret the act the way your mind wishes to. Another performance I particularly enjoyed was based on a group acting as a navigator or tomtom portrayed through the dance style ballet.

Overall

I thought all performances were phenomenal and interesting to watch because of the different dance styles and choreographic techniques used such as canon. I am glad that I had the chance to also be a part of it and performed an Indian piece. I would definitely recommend this to others because it has a great way to encourage talent and watch some great performances.

Leave a comment