BollyDynamix- Dance Spectacular by Elisha Patel

On the 30th November, I went to see a newly formed dance group named BollyDynamix. The group is for experienced dancers over the age of 18. This incredible dance company run by Subhash Viman Gorania, truly enlightened the audience with their spectacular performances and creative choreography. All the dancers that were performing were quite versatile as, they performed a several number of routines which included different styles of dance.

For example one of my favourite performances was a contemporary piece called Andh- choreographed by Kesha Raithatha. The dance was about delving into the dark side, showing that the human mind is capable of so much, yet we choose the path of struggle where the human psyche pushes towards self-suffering. This stimulus was cleverly depicted by the three dancers that performed this routine as, it showed me how choreography and facial expressions can craft such an excellent dance piece which communicates a difficult stimulus that is hard to portray. I especially liked the starting section where the three girls emerge from a fixed position where they are linked together, making the shape of a mind to present the stimulus.

Another routine I really liked was a piece called Aang since, they used a prop which was a ball of light and that made the dance extremely interesting as, it captivates the audience showing that light plays a significant part in our daily lives. The piece was very imaginative and it inspires me to think outside the box when coming up with a dance idea. All the dancers were in sync which made it so professional. It was mind-blowing. There was also classical routines of Kathak and Bharatanatyam, which taught me about the past and how these styles can never be forgotten. I personally have never done Kathak or Bharatanatyam, however I would really like to learn it due to the spectacular performances that I had seen in the BollyDynamix show.

On the whole, the show was better than I ever expected it was going to be. Their energy and charisma when they dance made me want to get up and dance with. It was such a memorable experience. I felt like there was a connection between me and the dancers as, each and every performance drew me in and made me feel how the dancers were feeling. Some of the dances really intrigued me especially how they used props like lights to enhance their dance and make it really interesting thus, it gave me ideas for a performance that I am taking part in called the Dance Showcase at school. I can take this inspiration and perhaps include some sort of light in perhaps a scary dance piece of horror to make it more daring and frightening. Overall,  I would definitely recommend to everyone I know, to go to see this phenomenal group perform, as it is a great experience and they will inspire you in ways that you would never even think would be possible.

Leave a comment